E-mail Print PDF

Central Tuberculosis Referential Laboratory

Tuberculosis Reference Laboratory was established in 1968 with the assistance of British Medical Research Council (BMRC). The National Tuberculosis and Leprosy Control Program (NTLP) under Ministry of Health and Social Welfare (MOHSW) run the Central Tuberculosis Reference Laboratory (CTRL), to support Tuberculosis and Leprosy Control activities. National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR) Muhimbili, supports the CTRL & NTLP particularly, in coordinating scientific researches which the laboratory is involved in.

Administrative Structure: Tanzania mainland has 23 administrative regions, 154 districts with 133 Councils. Each region in the mainland comprises of 3 to 8 districts. The regions act as extended arms of the central ministry and are responsible for coordination, supportive supervision, and technical backup to districts, capacity building and monitoring of services. Thus, the regions ensure that there is effective translation of National policies and guidelines into quality services accessible to the whole population within the region.
Each region is sub divided into districts in the mainland which in turn have 4-5 divisions, each composed of 3-4 wards. Each ward is comprised of 5-7 villages. There are a total of about 11,000 villages. Government activities within wards are managed by Local Government Authorities (Councils).


Random Image

ctrl offices.jpg
How do you rate our website?

Who's Online

We have 1 guest online